Fitness Tips

IMG_2051 (1).jpg
My dog is my best yoga buddy

Day 22 in my 30-day yoga challenge and I still leave feeling inspired. Today’s message was that nothing lasts forever- not your pose, workout, time or your current situation in life. Change is inevitable, but you have the power to make the change you want. No matter what situation is bringing you down or if you’re at your lowest low, what is most important is how you get back up. That is the true test.

In regards to my physical journey, I’ve always made excuses for myself. That I was born this way, that it was genetics, and that I will always be that bigger. It wasn’t until I decided to take action and actually tried to get healthier that I began seeing results.

Few changes I made were planning out my workouts and creating a good support team.

I used to go to the gym and just wing it, with no routine. Without a purpose, my workouts were unproductive. I thought that I was “putting in the work” based off the amount of time that I spent there, but I would rarely leave feeling tired or accomplished.

I downloaded the Beach Body Guide (BBG) by Kayla Itsines and it really has done wonders. Not only are the workouts great, but I love that it’s scheduled Monday, Wednesday, and Friday with set times for each set. The program makes you feel accountable, especially when you follow her on Instagram and the BBG community.  On the off days you’re supposed to do some sort of cardio, and I found that the Couch to 5k program was perfect to sub in during those days.

Other ways to create your own routine is to follow other fitness people on Instagram or Facebook. Often times you’ll find workout video clips of their routines, just make sure that you write it down and understand the moves prior to going to the gym.

A few of my favorite people to follow are:

Kayla ItsinesEmily SkyeJosie MaiSarah BowmarAnna Victoria

Use social media to your advantage, as inspiration and accountability. I love SnapChatting funny faces after a hard workout so that my friends know that I’m working hard.

It’s important to surround yourself with friends that are supportive and that might even be taking on a fitness journey of their own. You can put together a Google Document to record food, workouts and progress. Make it more motivating by starting a challenge, putting money on the line definitely ups the stakes. It’s important to remember at the end of the day that you’re there to support and help each other and that you want everyone to succeed.

It’s never too late to start and remember you can do anything if you set your mind to it.

Xo

Leave a Reply

